Digestive Health

Concept of ‘Agni’ in Ayurveda

Concept of ‘Agni’ in Ayurveda

Being one

of the panchamahabhoota, agni (fire) has the particular that it can not exist without a base. In the body it exists in pitta dosha.
Agni is accountable for the following functions:
Digestion – indigestion (Pakti- Apakti)
Vision- lack of vision (Darshanam- Adarshanam)
Degree of heat (Matra- Amatratvamushmanala)
Normal -irregular skin tone (Prakrit – Vikarit varnam)
Prowess- worry (Shaurya- Bhaya)
Anger – exholoration (krodham- Harsham)
Confusion- clearness of mind (Moha- Prasadan)
For the metabolic procedures in the body, there are 3 primary groups of biological elements, most likely showing enzymatic functions (agnis).
Jatharagni or Koshthagni:
Present in the pachak pitta. It is accountable for the food digestion and the absorption of healthy compounds throughout this procedure.
The procedure of food digestion (ahar pachan) is divided in 3 phases, which jointly is called awastha paka and can be divided in the following.
Amavstha (Madhuravastha) Paka – in stomach
Pachymanavastha (Amlavstha) Paka – in ‘grahani’ (Duodenum)
Pakavstha (Katuavstha) Paka – in little and big intestinal tract
As the rasa modifications in various stage of food digestion these stage of food digestion are called avsthapaka. At the end of the food digestion the absorbed food have their initial rasa which remains in accordance with the rasa of the consumed food. This is called as Nistha paka.It is likewise called widely as Vipaka.
Madhur rasa & & Lavan rasa have Madhura Vipaka, Amla rasa have amla vipaka and Katu, Tikta & & Kashaya rasa have Katu vipaka.
In ayurveda it is thought that whatever is comprised of 5 aspects therefore is the body. These 5 components are the panchmahabhoota and are accountable for making up every living remaining in the world. Agni changes the Asharir Mahabhoota (external mahabhoot) to Sharir Mahabhoota. Example – When we consume water Jala Mahabhoota (water) controls and later on the water is changed by Jala Mahabhoota agni to the Sharir Jala Containing 5 kinds of biological elements, it is accountable for the processing of the 5 standard components into a structure beneficial to the body.
Dhatvagnis: The 3rd group includes 7 types, each for the assimilation of the 7 tissues This assimilation happens successively. From the soaked up healthy compound, plasma (rasa) is produced initially; from plasma, blood (rakta) is formed, then muscle (mamsa), fat (meda), bony tissue (asthi), bone marrow (majjan) and the reproductive cells (shukra).
Besides carrying out all the metabolic functions agni looks after food digestion (ahar pachan) and in the lack of ahar it acts upon the ama pachan i.e. effectively metabolize the inappropriate metabolites. When ahar and ama are lack Agni does the function of dhatu i.e. rasa, rakta and so on. Food digestion of dhatu is a deadly condition where dhatus are broken down to obtain energy. The decrease or shortage of the quantum of dhatu in the body results in the illness called ‘Kshaya roga’.
In ayurveda it is thought that the pathology happens due to the problems in Agni (Kaya). Thus the correction of Kaya i.e. Agni is called the treatment or ‘Kaya Chikitsa’ in ayurveda

Agnis are likewise categorized into 4 classifications inning accordance with how they manifest in the person:
Tikshnagni -sharp,
Mandagni – moderate,
Vishamagni – irregular, and
Samagni – routine or Balanced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *